10
Apr
09

Howto: Launch XAMPP Control Panel on Linux

Wonder how to get the XAMPP Graphical Control Panel on your Linux just like in Windows ? It’s that simple, just hit ALT+F2 and type :

 

gksu* /opt/lampp/share/xampp-control-panel/xampp-control-panel

 

* replace by : kdesu for KDE3 / kdesudo for KDE 4

xampp_control_panel

And here’s an icon for your shortcut….

 

 

 

 

 

 

15 Responses to “Howto: Launch XAMPP Control Panel on Linux”


  1. 1 eugene
    August 24, 2009 at 06:32

    Thank you I am new to ubuntu and to xampp and I have looked for a whole day to find this.
    Keep up the good work thanks again regards Eugene.

  2. 3 hunterb0t
    July 31, 2010 at 00:22

    Just another thank you)I don’t know why this information is missed on xampp site!

  3. 5 kathy
    August 19, 2010 at 15:32

    awesome! i had pretty much given up on using ubuntu for developing my wordpress themes, b/c i was annoyed by not having the gui for xampp. i wonder why they hide this? thank you for this.

  4. 7 AL
    September 3, 2010 at 00:35

    It is very usefull!Why Xampp don’t provide any information about this control panel?

  5. April 26, 2011 at 05:23

    very helpful…
    specially the XAMPP Icon…
    :)

    Thanks!

  6. July 7, 2011 at 03:06

    Lol, at first I thought that I really had to type gksu* /opt/ […], and then I realized that it was just had to type the gksu /opt/ […]

    Thank you, dude!
    I spent too much time trying to find that control panel in Lampp file system…

  7. July 7, 2011 at 03:12

    Hey, I saved that command in a launcher in my desktop, but it keeps asking me for my password.
    I wonder how would it be to put the password parameter in the command line, so it wouldn’t ask me everytime.

    Do you know the syntax to do that?

  8. 13 Jeff Smith
    December 18, 2011 at 23:07

    Thanks! Was missing this little tool when I moved from Windows!

  9. February 6, 2012 at 10:14

    I’ve get tired running xampp through terminal. Thank you so much! You helped me alot

  10. September 13, 2013 at 19:53

    Create a shortcut launcher on your desktop!!
    Type /usr/bin/gnome-desktop-item-edit /home/user/Desktop/ –create-new into terminal replacing /user/ with your username
    type the same command in to the command box of the interface that pops up!

    You now have a desktop shorcut creator!!

    You might have to install gnome-panel


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

